How is the restricted test marked?

Want to pass your restricted test first time? Take a sneak peak into how the test is marked.

During the restricted test, the Testing Officer will be marking you on up to 10 key driving skills. Six of these skills will be assessed several times at different points throughout the test. These are the things that you should be thinking about and doing constantly when in the car.

The Testing Officer will be aiming to get a good idea of how consistently you can perform these skills while you drive.

The skills you're mainly assessed on:

Passing these skills

There’s no set pass-mark for how often you need to do these skills properly.  At the end of the test, the testing officer uses a sheet to tally up how many times you performed the skills correctly compared to how many times you didn’t. They then refer to a score sheet to work out if you did well enough to pass.

Other skills you're assessed on:

There are 4 other skills that the Testing Officer will be assessing you on. These are assessed only once during the test - during either the reverse parallel park or the three-point turn.

Restricted licence test guide:

Still confused? The NZ Transport Agency’s Restricted Licence Test guide (PDF, 4.13 MB) has more detail on exactly what the Testing Officer will be looking for - look at section 4, under the subheading, 'Task Assessment items' on page 14.

How the testing officer decides if you pass

In addition to assessing you on the key driving skills listed above, the testing officer will also be keeping a close eye on whether you commit any Critical or Immediate Fail Errors.

Most people who fail the test do so because they make Critical Errors or Immediate Fail Errors. The Testing Officer will checking to see if you make these errors at any time during the test – not just during assessable tasks.

What's next?

Critical and immediate fail errors

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now